1-2-3 Not Done

Okay, okay. Most people start with the, “Hey, my name is….”. But eh, I’ll skip all that and get down to it! I can’t believe I have actually started this. It’s been a long-term goal for…well let’s just say a long time. I’ve found that I process everything when I write about what’s going on. I try not to be that annoying person that writes page-long statuses about my life..every single day on Facebook (no offense if you do, I’m just saying, and hey, maybe you think I’m that person- oh well haha). So maybe this is more for me than it is for you. But really, I think you might like this. Really.

If you are looking for mistakes, you are going to find them. If you are looking to critique, I am sure you will have a lot to say. But if you are looking to see how God is flowing through my broken life, I think you will be moved. More than moved, I believe God will change your life in a new way. In fact, I think you will find that we may be similar. When we try to be like everyone else, or present our life as it’s “supposed to be,” rather than what it actually is, we all feel lonely and empty because you can’t truly connect with people that way and honestly, that’s not real life. It’s actually kind of ironic, and yet we still do it all the time, every day. And everyone hates the “Hi Sally, how are you? Good, how about you, Amber ?” Well, at least I do. And so it comes to this: I believe God has called us to be real. Some of you may be thinking, “Oh no, here she goes ranting about the whole “God” thing again.” Bear with me.

Life is a Process. Things take Time. In our microwave world, we don’t like the words “process” or “take time.” I mean “HEY, I ‘ve got things to do! Give me that 1-2-3 step plan so I can check it off as completed.” Sound familiar? When I first believed in Jesus Christ as my Savior that could take away my sins (past, present, future), He did. By the same grace that Saved me,  it is the same grace that is going to CHANGE me. Yes, There’s nothing that I can do to make God love me any more or any less. But, still-  becoming more like Him is a process. “But God, even though I am saved, how come sometimes I struggle with even …wanting to spend time with You? How come I still struggle with saying some of the most insensitive and hurtful things to people? How come I struggle with being so impatient with the kids I teach (I am a gymnastics teacher)?” And it could literally go on, and on…yes, and on. “God, if I was saved, why do I still have to go through this!!!!!”

Simple. It takes time. We are in a process.

When I realized this, the condemnation began to leave. Yes, I believe we still need to repent when we sin. But the whole ‘beat myself up” over when I do wrong began to leave. Yes God loves me, no matter what. Yes, He has forgiven me too. But life is a process. Seasons come and go. As I seek Him, He will continue to change me into more like Himself. What Christ started, is what Christ will finish.

“For I am confident of this very thing, that He who began a good work in you will perfect it until the day of Christ Jesus.” ~Philippians 1:6

~Anna

Leave a Reply

